Posted by: Audrey Erbes | January 17, 2016

Bay Area Life Science Activities Week of Jan. 18, 2016

My Two Cents

I have no comments on industry this week. I did hear that there were a lot of folks at the JP Morgan Week and that a lot of Chinese money is being invested in US companies. Hold onto your IP!

Now that I’ve settled my deceased husband’s  estate and now live only in the Bay Area, I need to find some activities to keep me intellectually as well as socially involved. I recently volunteered to help seniors at local senior centers with their taxes this year so I’ve been spending 30 hours a week studying tax law and software needed to do this work. My brain has been fully occupied but the immersion teaching method developed by AARP leaves a lot to be desired. This experience reminds me of stepping off a chair lift onto snow for the first time. This is all new to me but I’m told I’ve find it very rewarding. I miss teaching and thought this might provide some adult interaction as well as stimulate my mind.

I’ve also been spending my free time researching and analyzing the political events of this past week as I try to better understand the direction our populace is likely to take on planning our political future. It’s all rather scary and learning tax law seems less frightening in comparison.

Please bear with me as I will just list local industry events and share a few positions that crossed my desk at this time.

Upcoming Events Week of Jan. 18, 2016

  • Bio2Device Group, Tuesday Morning, Jan. 19, 2016; Topic: “Digital Molecular Barcoding Technology for Cancer Biomarker Discovery and Personalized Medicine;” Speaker: Michelle M. Chen, Ph.D , Executive Director of Business Development & Strategic Alliances, NanoString
  • GGPF, Tuesday Evening, Jan. 19, 2016; Topic: “Multi-functional Liquid Crystalline Epoxy Networks;” Speaker: Prof. Michael R. Kessler, School of Mechanical and Materials Engineering, Washington State University, Pullman, Washington
  • QB3, Wednesday Afternoons, Jan. 20, 2016; Event: QB3 NHI SBIR Workshop (Berkeley Edition); Instructors: Gabrielle G. Leblanc, PhD, Bioscience Consulting and Crystal Nyitray, PhD, Entrepreneurship Program Manager
  • PBSS Workshop, Friday, Jan. 22, 2016; Topic: “Drug Delivery and Controlled Release: Fundamentals, Technologies and Case Studies”
  • CABS, Saturday, Jan. 23, 2015;” CABS Seminar: Diagnosis and Treatment of Acute Heart Attack; ”Speaker: Dr. Ling, Board Certified Primary Care Physician

You can download details for the above events in a complete PDF list of upcoming events through August 2016 by right clicking on Audreys Picks Jan. 17, 2016. This week I have a short JobsThatCrossedMyDeskThrough Jan. 17, 2016 as well.

Audrey

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

